RSS Feed

Spoon-Fed

Yesterday we were invited to Easter lunch by a lovely young couple we met last year when we volunteered for the Homeless Count in Long Beach. They have a 9-month-old baby, fat and merry.

The invitation was an antidote to feeling slightly forlorn. Christopher was here last week on spring break, and left at midday to finish out his junior year, just before we went to lunch with our friends. It seems like the blink of an eye since he was in a high chair, and we would host the Easter gathering at our house. Time, age, infirmity, death and divorce have refashioned all that.

At lunch, we all laughed as the baby pulverized avocado with his tiny fists and made a fearsome mess of it.  It felt odd, too, to be a generation away and to think, “That’s not how we did it.”  Evidently “self-feeding” has been the trend for at least seven or eight years – no more spoon-feeding.  The thinking is that spoon-fed kids are potentially obese and grow up to be picky eaters.

I could almost hear myself say in a creaky voice while brandishing a cane, “In my day, we fed our kids with a spoon.”

Spoon Fed

 

 

 

About treacycolbert

I make my living by writing about health care. I've always written about life's chastening effect, but just as a way of sorting it out for myself. After years of doing this and keeping these essays quiet, I decided to put some of these impressions out there on this blog. Thanks for reading, and let me know what you think.

7 responses »

  1. I laughed out loud while reading your essay because just a couple days ago, my daughter told me about the Baby Led Weaning practice that many of her friends are adhering to. She didn’t know what it was called or what was good about it so I had to investigate. I found out a little but nothing that it said helped me to see why it was better to let a baby gnaw on a block of meat than to be fed with a spoon. So, looks like I will be right next to you reminiscing about “the good old days” when we fed our children with utensils.

    Reply
  2. I loved this essay Treacy. It made me laugh and it made me wonder who is teaching children to eat with utensils? Maybe this no spoon thing is what is at the root of favorite foods becoming paper wrapped burgers from Burger King. No utensils needed.

    Reply
  3. We may have tried spoon-feeding Nick, but, the spoon along with the food ended up on the floor. He’s 5-years-old now, and meal-time is still a messy affair.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

