RSS Feed

Eating the Sun

 

We’re overrun with Lemon Boy tomatoes, the yellow variety with a slight tang that makes them delicious.  My favorite way to eat them is Harriet the Spy style, on wheat bread with a thin scrim of mayo.

Lemon Boys 8-12-16

Did you read Harriet the Spy as a child?  If so, you’ll recall that she ate nothing but tomato sandwiches.  I credit Harriet with my desire to become a writer. She spied on people around her, recording her deadly observations about them in her composition book.

Harriet the Spy

While pregnant with Christopher 21 years ago this summer, I ate Lemon Boy tomatoes for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  When he was little, he was a regular in our backyard garden, uprooting a carrot, onion, or “garlics” as he called them.  I used to tell him that eating so many Lemon Boys while I was expecting him was the reason he was such a sweet, nice boy — it was like eating the sun.

Christopher with onion

Christopher is visiting us for a couple of days this weekend, on a short break from his summer jobs in San Diego.  Here he is with his cousin Savannah, at our impromptu dinner party last night.

CJD and SJD 8-11-16

Ironically, he loathes tomatoes, carefully picking them out of the salad and scraping them from his slice of pizza.  He wouldn’t eat a Lemon Boy if you paid him. Despite that aversion, having him around even for a short time is like sunshine in our lives.

About treacycolbert

I make my living by writing about health care. I've always written about life's chastening effect, but just as a way of sorting it out for myself. After years of doing this and keeping these essays quiet, I decided to put some of these impressions out there on this blog. Thanks for reading, and let me know what you think.

3 responses »

  1. Beautiful! One of my favorites. Christopher looked like sunshine when he was little and he still does!

    Reply
  2. That’s beautiful, Treacy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

