RSS Feed

Crusty Old Girl

I’m on the down slope to 60; only a week until I hit that number. It’s a big one, and I had planned to rest up a bit before the day and reflect on how I’d like to spend the next decade.  But life intervened, with the holiday season and run-up to my birthday spent dealing with family issues, to use a vague, polite euphemism.

I’m grateful to make it to 60 – provided I live until next week, that is. My sister didn’t see 35, let alone 40, 50 or 60, so her absence has served as a steady reminder that every day above ground is a good day.

Christopher has been home for the holidays.  It’s been a messy holiday season, literally, with the house an unholy wreck, holiday meals hastily flung together, no time to shop for Christmas presents, nothing under the tree for him, and little time to spend with him. I’ve noticed that Christopher uses “crusty” as a catchall pejorative, applying the term liberally and making me laugh every time he says it. He’s used it to mean something dirty or nasty, whether describing the wreckage of his own room or peering dubiously into a wastebasket I’ve asked him to empty. Maybe it’s a millennial thing.

According to Webster’s, “crusty” means “giving an effect of surly incivility in address or disposition.” As I approach my dotage I’ll try to avoid that sour outlook even if the times, both personal and global, seem to justify it. Instead, I’ll take crusty in the form of a freshly baked baguette — warm, fragrant, and eaten in its entirety with butter.

baguette

About treacycolbert

I make my living by writing about health care. I've always written about life's chastening effect, but just as a way of sorting it out for myself. After years of doing this and keeping these essays quiet, I decided to put some of these impressions out there on this blog. Thanks for reading, and let me know what you think.

4 responses »

  1. I’ll go with your latter description of crusty, adding baked to perfection; soft on the inside and able to withstand being easily crushed on the outside. Here’s to the next decade, Treacy!

    Reply
  2. From one crusty gal to the other: Enjoy the freedom of being a femme sage! ❤

    Reply
  3. Treacy… Happy New Year!  I just returned from a little get away to read this lovely blog.   I could ready your writing all day long.  Thank you for this gift.  There is so much to catch up on…. It sounds like the family situation is not improving… I’m keeping David’s parent, step-parent, and step-sister in my prayers.   I would love to take you out for your birthday.  I know you have so much on your plate but please give me a few possibilities that might work with your schedule.    Looking forward to seeing you…. Hang in there dear friend. xo 

    From: The Green Side of the Grass To: kristenspalding@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, January 2, 2017 9:28 PM Subject: [New post] Crusty Old Girl #yiv2129447524 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv2129447524 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv2129447524 a.yiv2129447524primaryactionlink:link, #yiv2129447524 a.yiv2129447524primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv2129447524 a.yiv2129447524primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv2129447524 a.yiv2129447524primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv2129447524 WordPress.com | treacycolbert posted: “I’m on the down slope to 60; only a week until I hit that number. It’s a big one, and I had planned to rest up a bit before the day and reflect on how I’d like to spend the next decade.  But life intervened, with the holiday season and run-up to my birthd” | |

    Reply
  4. Yes, I’m on the crusty as delicious bandwagon. Best best best wishes for the coming year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

