A Few Things to Be Glad About

As the name of this blog implies, any day on the green side of the grass is a reason to be glad. Here are a few more for today.

The frilly elegance of this volunteer gladiolus that appeared in the yard. We have no idea how the lone stalk got there, because neither of us remembers planting any glad bulbs. Nevertheless, we’ll welcome its showy presence.

DSC_1484

Volunteer on the Moccasin Trail in a shocking pink helmet. His fashion serves as a festive tribute to the fact that seven years after the devastating Station Fire, the area is slowly healing.

DSC_1476

 

Good health except for poodle dog bush rash. The deceptively pretty poodle dog bush blooms only after a fire, and causes severe dermatitis. It’s akin to poison oak but ratcheted up a few. I must have brushed up against some of it Saturday, because my left leg is a bubbly, itchy mess. However, on the scale of possible health problems this is very small indeed, so I’ve decided to be glad about that.

Poodle dog bush

 

About treacycolbert

I make my living by writing about health care. I've always written about life's chastening effect, but just as a way of sorting it out for myself. After years of doing this and keeping these essays quiet, I decided to put some of these impressions out there on this blog. Thanks for reading, and let me know what you think.

Leave a comment