Candlelight, Fashion, and Peeps

Thinking of my mother today, who left this life on this date in 2004.

When churches began locking their doors in the off hours and replaced the soft flicker and glow of real tapers with little electric push-button lights, I began to borrow from the Jewish tradition of lighting a yahrzeit candle in my home, which burns for 24 hours, on the anniversary of my mother’s death. I love and respect this ritual, and hope that no one would consider it an improper appropriation.

As I’ve recently sifted through dozens of boxes of photos stored in my attic, I discovered this one of my mother at about age 22, ever stylish.

This photo of myself at around the same age also resurfaced, and I had to laugh at the drastic sartorial difference. At the time I thought I was oh-so-Bohemian in this one-dollar, thrift-store coat. My mother had a complete horror of it and disdainfully termed it my “rat fur coat.”

I like to eat one of my mother’s favorite foods on this day, chewy rye toast with tangy marmalade, Fig Newtons, or fragrant Earl Gray tea in a pretty cup. Today’s commemorative bite comes courtesy of my friend Ladan, who graciously procured yellow Peeps for me. This Easter delicacy can be hard to find at this time of year. Knock-off pink and blue bunnies abound but those simply won’t do. My mother and I often indulged in this guilty pleasure around Easter, and I’ll do so today.

Cheers to everyone, with wishes for a day that includes fashionable outfits and excellent snacks.

About treacycolbert

I make my living by writing about health care. I've always written about life's chastening effect, but just as a way of sorting it out for myself. After years of doing this and keeping these essays quiet, I decided to put some of these impressions out there on this blog. Thanks for reading, and let me know what you think.

4 responses »

  1. Thank you, Treacy – what a privilege to be mentioned in this tribute to your mother. She was an unforgettable lady whose spirit lives on.
    You had such beautiful, long, silky hair then – very special and distinctive, which is what you still are as a person today.

    Reply
  2. I love this beautiful tribute to your mother, Treacy, and I think it is wonderful that you have adopted the Jewish tradition of lighting a Yahrzeit candle in her memory each year. Being able to watch the flickering candlelight burn over a 24 hour period at home carves out a significant space for memorializing our loved ones. You actually resemble your mother quite well in looks and from what you’ve said of her, also in your unique style and class, thrift store fur coat or not. Sending love to you on your special day of remembrance.

    Reply

Leave a comment