Lynx Jacket

This is from a 1983 diary excerpt written in a Clairefontaine notebook in aqua fountain pen ink, the handwriting tiny and crabbed. I have 53 years’ worth of these volumes that I’m slowly skimming and purging.

Yesterday Mme. came home with a lynx and mink jacket. Since she has been complaining of money problems, I naturally assumed it was an imitation and asked if it was rabbit. She gave me a withering look. Subconsciously, I suppose I did it on purpose.

At the time in 1983, I was Madame’s servant, taking care of her 3-year-old daughter while she worked every day at the Banque Nationale de Paris, and cleaning her apartment in the 12th arrondissement. I didn’t do a very good job of the cleaning, but I was good at telling the little girl fairy tales, even in my fractured French and my honking American accent.

I called her Madame in my diary even though she was only 2 years older than I and insisted that I call her by her first name, as if we were copines, which we were not. Sometimes she would be rude, even cruel to me, telling me that my French should be better by now, that drinking Coke causes boutons, and when the child came down with a cold, blaming me for not dressing her warmly enough the day before.

She and her husband didn’t really have the money or the accommodations for a servant, but there I was as their au pair. They wanted to try to look more successful and yuppieish – that was a real term in 1983 – and I needed a job and a place to live, like thousands of people living in Paris without papiers.

I slept on a fold-out canape in the living room. In the morning I folded it up and the room looked like no one had been there. I erased myself every day.

What would I have known from lynx jackets, me with my puffy midwestern down jacket, not a foulard in sight, and a pastel wraparound skirt from LL Bean that, Madame hastened to inform me, had a stain on the back? I had fled to Paris thinking I’d refashion my life, but all I did was shatter it even further.

Forty years hence I remember that I’d been adrift and lonely, but until reading these desperate diary entries again, I’d blocked out just how bad it had been. I realize how self-indulgent that sounds – oh, I was living in Paris, anyone’s dream, but I managed to make it awful.

There were lessons in Paris. If you try to wear a down jacket to the opera on a cold night, an imperious Frenchwoman will take it off of you and insist that you wear her pearl gray wool coat, cut too slim for you. You will descend in the ascenseur and emerge in the rue Claude de Caen, crying with rage and humiliation. The French word for pimples is the same word as for buttons. Moving a continent away in a dramatic flourish changes nothing – your heartbreak will be crouched there, waiting for you.

About treacycolbert

I make my living by writing about health care. I've always written about life's chastening effect, but just as a way of sorting it out for myself. After years of doing this and keeping these essays quiet, I decided to put some of these impressions out there on this blog. Thanks for reading, and let me know what you think.

11 responses »

  1. Wow. This is a story that will leave me thinking about it for a while. 53 years worth is a lot of journal entries!

    Reply
  2. I know it’s a cliché, but it is true that wherever we go, there we are. (Partout où nous allons, nous sommes là.) I, too, have learned that lesson a few times, though not in such a drastic way. Thank you for sharing a part of your experience as an au pair living in Paris. It may not have been glamorous in the reality, but it was definitely quite admirable of you as a young 20-something to step out of your comfort zone for something so courageous. Je te dire mon chapeau, mon amie.

    Reply
  3. Oh, my goodness!! I was an au pair to a French couple in Paris with twins in 1984-1985 while I took classes at the Sorbonne. Wow, I did not keep a journal but I remember my time.

    Reply
  4. I slept in a little room at the top of the apt. building, Very tiny and across from me was a French student studying to be a teacher. She helped me with French and I took a shower in the couple’s beautiful apt. and sometimes ate dinner with them. According to them, I had a voracious appetite because I could not stop eating their cheese.

    Reply
    • Perhaps we crossed paths! I left in August 84. I called myself a vielle fille au pair because I was much older than the Irish, English, and American young women I’d come across who were there working as au pairs. I was an ancient 25 when I went to Paris.

      Reply
      • I was 22 and arrived in August 84. I did not las the year as an au pair. The living conditions were kind of tough. I ended up renting a room from an artist.

  5. We have a lot in common.

    Reply

Leave a comment