Thoughts on Taylor

No, not that one. My sister, who would have been 69 today. My sister’s name was Mary Taylor Colbert, named after my grandmother, whose maiden name was Taylor.

Sometime in the mid-70s, my sister was hired for a job in New York where she would have been the third Mary in the office. Her boss peremptorily declared, “We can’t have another Mary,” and decreed that Mary would have to be known by her middle name. This was nearly 50 years ago, and while Irish Catholic Marys abounded, there were very few women named Taylor.

From then on my sister was known as Taylor among certain groups of people, although she remained Mary to us. At her memorial service in 1988, I spoke about how she loved giving gifts, carefully selecting something that matched the recipient’s interests, choosing dramatic wrapping paper and ribbon, and always festooning her presents with a flourish — a bird figurine, a fresh flower, a feather or a toy musical instrument. I said that Mary had been a gift to us. Afterward two of her colleagues approached me and asked in a puzzled tone, “Why were you calling her Mary?” Even in the crushing sadness of that day, I had to laugh.

My sister had a humorous outlook on life, and I think she’d get an kick out of sharing her name with the now wildly famous and popular singer and claiming that she was Taylor long before it was a thing.

About treacycolbert

I make my living by writing about health care. I've always written about life's chastening effect, but just as a way of sorting it out for myself. After years of doing this and keeping these essays quiet, I decided to put some of these impressions out there on this blog. Thanks for reading, and let me know what you think.

10 responses »

  1. I loved reading this Treacy!  And happy birthday to Mary. You and your sister not only look alike but it seems share many similar wonderful attributes.  You are the best gift giver – so generous and thoughtful.  Moreover, you are a gift to me! XO 

    Reply
  2. Lovely!I wish I’d known your sister. Every story you share about her has a special aspect. I can’t find the words, but your love for her always comes through. 

    Sent from AT&T Yahoo Mail for iPhone

    Reply
  3. Happy Birthday to Mary Taylor Colbert! That is a beautiful picture of her. I didn’t know her middle name or that she continued to be called that by work friends.
    You have always kept her memory so alive.

    Reply
  4. Thank you for another beautiful tribute to your beloved sister, Mary Taylor Colbert, on her birth date.

    Reply
  5. Your sister is beautiful! Those 70’s times seemed gentler and more humane. A good time to be in the city.

    Reply

Leave a comment