Raise the Candles High

RIP Melanie, who died today at 76. Here is a piece I wrote about her a few years ago.

So, raise the candles high
‘Cause if you don’t we could stay black against the night
Oh, raise them higher again
And if you do we could stay dry against the rain

About treacycolbert

I make my living by writing about health care. I've always written about life's chastening effect, but just as a way of sorting it out for myself. After years of doing this and keeping these essays quiet, I decided to put some of these impressions out there on this blog. Thanks for reading, and let me know what you think.

3 responses »

  1. Thank you for the beautiful poem and the beautiful memory. I enjoyed your earlier story. I guess many of us sang that song as our anthem. And, yeah, I think I, and you, and Melanie and all our sisters by other mothers done alright for a girl…and more than alright–and we will continue to do so. Here’s raising a candle to women everywhere.

    Reply
  2. I am sorry for the loss we have all experienced. It is a frequent experience now as we get older.

    The beautiful candle lit in her honor reminds me of the memories we leave behind in those who love us. Melanie has left her music for us to remember.

    Reply

Leave a comment