A Favorite Blackguard

RIP Malachy McCourt, who died today at 92.

This photo was taken after I heard him speak in Los Angeles not long after A Monk Swimming was published. You can’t tell from the picture, but my face actually hurt from laughing so much as he told tales of his freewheeling, hilarious, and sometimes awful life. He described himself as “human being at large at I have never worked a day in my life.” I’m sure he’s working hard at regaling all the saints and angels right now.

About treacycolbert

I make my living by writing about health care. I've always written about life's chastening effect, but just as a way of sorting it out for myself. After years of doing this and keeping these essays quiet, I decided to put some of these impressions out there on this blog. Thanks for reading, and let me know what you think.

Leave a comment