Vintage Spatula

I love this picture of my mother taken 73 years ago in the apartment on W. 23rd Street in New York where she and my father lived right after they married. She appears to be having fun in the kitchen, and I imagine the neatly hung utensils behind her and the bowl in front of her were wedding presents. Believe it or not, I still have that pancake spatula.

My mother is gone 20 years today. As I do every day, I’ll think of her and miss her. But maybe today I’ll stir up and flip a pile of pancakes in her memory.

About treacycolbert

I make my living by writing about health care. I've always written about life's chastening effect, but just as a way of sorting it out for myself. After years of doing this and keeping these essays quiet, I decided to put some of these impressions out there on this blog. Thanks for reading, and let me know what you think.

4 responses »

  1. Your mother looks so happy! It’s a great pic. It must have been a memorable time since pictures were so rarely taken that long ago. I hope you flip some pancakes today!

    Reply
  2. This is such a beautiful photograph and story. I certainly see the resemblance to your mother! Of course I believe you still have that spatula–I still have Mom’s potato masher from when she first married in 1947! Enjoy a day of reminiscing–I do it every day as well–and flip some pancakes!

    Reply
  3. Your mother is so beautiful and looks so happy. You certainly bear a wonderful resemblance to her. I hope you flipped some perfect pancakes today in her blessed memory, Treacy. Thinking of you with love.

    Reply

Leave a comment