Rare Currency

Posted on

We’re a little over halfway through a monthlong trip through Japan, and I’m almost out of a precious commodity that I’ve been spending profligately: See’s lollipops.

I was delighted when researching this trip ahead of time, I read that Japanese people love See’s candy. While it can be purchased in Tokyo at one store, it is apparently wildly expensive.

So I stuffed a box of 40 assorted lollipops in my suitcase and have dispensed them along the way — to the man in the train station who, with a grand sweep of his arms and a ceremonious bow, directed me to the correct turnstile, the servers of fish and pickled vegetable breakfasts, the taxi driver who ferried us to Tokyo Station in his spotless, quiet cab, the bell captain who arranged for our luggage to be sent ahead from Osaka to Hiroshima so we didn’t have to schlep suitcases on the train.

Each time I’ve proffered a lollipop with my thanks to these and other people, I’m met with laughter. The Japanese people we’ve encountered have been very serious, formal, and unfailingly polite. I’ll trust that the laughter comes from surprise and delight and not nervousness about a daft old lady handing out candy.

I have only four lollipops left and haven’t decided whether I’ll spend them quickly or mete them out carefully over the next 12 days. Once they’re gone, expressing my gratitude with a mere “arigato” won’t be nearly as much fun.

About treacycolbert

I make my living by writing about health care. I've always written about life's chastening effect, but just as a way of sorting it out for myself. After years of doing this and keeping these essays quiet, I decided to put some of these impressions out there on this blog. Thanks for reading, and let me know what you think.

3 responses »

  1. What a wonderful idea, Treacy! You’ve made many people’s day! Good on ya, my dear!

    Reply
  2. I love this–how special! And how wonderful to be in Japan!

    Reply

Leave a comment